My experiences with the holidays have been well organized and set in stone, until they are put into play. Then it all goes downhill from   there. A good part of my holidays have been spent trying feverishly to repair broken vehicles. It seems that when you have to go somewhere by a certain time that something on a perfectly maintained vehicle breaks. It is a huge pain when you are expected at a Christmas party in an hour, you have hot food in the truck waiting to be eaten down by colleagues that love your cooking, and you are stuck at the house with a flat tire. Now does a flat tire take an hour to change? No. But going back in the house changing out of your nice clothes, coming back out changing the tire, and then going back inside to clean up and redress; that can become very time consuming very quickly. If only there was a friendly shuttle service in a rural area that could help in times like this. Not a taxi service, but a group of neighbors and friends that would take you anywhere you need to go right now and bring you back afterwards for a small fee. Someone should start doing this and start this up before the holidays are in full swing. 

    I think that I can help out my community by offering a shuttle service owned and operated by one of their own who can remedy those last minute problems that no one sees coming. Happy people lead to a happy holiday season and there is no reason to spend a joyous time of the year spent in agony and poor attitude. It is a time to be especially thankful for your family and friends and all you have received throughout the year. I can charge my customers for what I use in gas and keep the rates low so that spending a great deal of money won’t be an issue in the chance of needing emergency transportation. Giving a little back to the community that raised me into the person that I have become and for helping me to get where I am today is the least that I could do. I mean hey, it’s the giving season and I enjoy helping others just for the pure enjoyment of seeing happy people in their time of sadness or grief. Car and truck repairs can cost a fortune nowadays if a mechanic is even available around the holiday season. Anybody would be thankful to be helped out in their time of need and to be helped out by a complete stranger can make anyone feel uneasy. To be helped by a friend and a neighbor is one of the best solutions that can happen around the holiday season. That is why I want to open Holiday Mishaps Shuttling for the Mills County area this holiday season.

    My plan is that for the shuttle service is that I will use my grandmother's Dodge Durango as it has third row seating, gets 24 miles to the gallon, and is equipped with thick all terrain tires that can handle the many dirt roads that snake their way through this county. I will also have the local embroidery shop print out some window stickers with the company name and the phone number. I will then go to our local newspaper and have them run an add in the paper for 3 month at a cost of $0.25 per week. Then all I will have to do is sit back and let the phone start ringing! Hopefully, with the amount of people that usually show up around this time of year my costs will be equal to my return and that I can at least offer a service, to my neighbors and community, that in a rural area is hard to find much less even heard of in this area.



Leave a Reply.

    Michael Hall